See all Venues

Cats (TBC) (SCENE)

Each year, a group of cats that calls itself the Jellicles meet up at the much-anticipated Jellicle Ball. Here, they decide which of them will be lucky enough to ascend to the heavenly Heaviside Layer and come back to a new life, decided by the wise Old Deuteronomy (Judi Dench).

As Grizabella (Jennifer Hudson), Bombalurina (Taylor Swift), Jennyanydots (Rebel Wilson), Macavity (Idris Elba), Gus the Theatre Cat (Ian McKellen) and the rest of the tribe gather together at the annual event, each introduces themselves in dramatic and musical fashion, sharing interesting tales of their lives and showing off their unique abilities and special traits.

Every one of them dreams about being chosen to be reborn in the Heaviside Layer, but only one can be picked by Old Deuteronomy.

Judi Dench (Skyfall, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Philomena), pop superstar Taylor Swift (The Lorax, Valentine’s Day), Jennifer Hudson (Sandy Wexler, All Rise, The Secret Life of Bees), Rebel Wilson (Pitch Perfect, Bridesmaids, The Hustle), Ian McKellen (Beauty and the Beast, X-Men, Lord of the Rings), and Idris Elba (Luther, The Jungle Book, Zootopia) star in this animated adaptation of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s stage production, based on the work of T.S Eliot.

Of course, Lloyd Webber writes the score for this dramatic musical directed by Academy Award winner Tom Hooper (The King’s Speech).

Go back to Cinema

Cats showings for this week

Tuesday 21st January
Wednesday 22nd January
Thursday 23rd January
Friday 24th January
Saturday 25th January
Sunday 26th January
Monday 27th January
Tuesday 28th January
Wednesday 29th January
Thursday 30th January

You may also like

Close